Skip to content

Party! Party! Party! – Wooo!!! Who wants to PARTAYYY!!??

August 12, 2010

“Who wants to party??!?!?”

Not me. I just don’t have it in me.

I tried, but never got into it.

Still try sometimes, because it’s what most people around here do to “socialize”.

When I started college and hit the “drinking age”. I was so proud that I could finally “go clubbing! wooooo!” I didn’t think about why I was so excited about it or whether I was going to like the experience or not. I was excited because, that’s what everybody was doing. People go partying to “have fun”. It was the next step in life. The right thing to do.. The “cool” thing to do. The “fun” thing to do.  So it was only right that I should be excited to join the night-life crowds and party the night away.

I think that’s how it started for most people. Just another rite-of-passage, the next step. But most people grew into it. Give them some booze. Then comes tipsiness and then drunkenness. Shy people become out-going, talkative. Inhibitions go out the window. You say and do outrageous things. “Cool” things..”Fun” things. I just never got into it. I’m not a drinker, I tried.. But I don’t see the point in forcing myself to drink something that doesn’t taste good to me until I puke over and over again, until I finally get used to it and be a part of the crowd.

Some people go partying to meet people. There’s hardly any where else you can go to just strike up a random conversation or just go in and buy someone a drink without being a weirdo. Of course if you happen to take a trip some where or are in a yoga class you can strike up a conversation and make friends. But it’s nothing like doing that in a night club or a bar. You have more courage after a drink or two, or more. With the beer goggles on, dim lighting and people groomed specifically to get a little somethin’ or attract some attention from the opposite sex. Where else would you prefer than to a place like a night club where most people are good-looking? And they are flaunting their stuff, dancing the night away.. looking “HOT!!” or “SEXY!!” or both.

Some people go out to party to have a little escape from their family. Life is stressful and hectic because they have to work so hard to feed their family, they come home from work and have to deal with their kids being kids and their wives “nagging” Some people don’t really say that about their wives. But some people do.  And yes.. the thing is. Life is too crazy and they need to go somewhere else because they can no longer “relax” at home any more.  So they drown themselves in some happy drinks at a bar somewhere.

Some people go party to go dancing.. for other people to see.. Because if you really love to dance. You can dance anywhere. There’s probably more room for that in your living room than at a packed night club.

Some people go just to drink because they love to drink. And drinking at home, doesn’t count as “having a great time”.

There are countless reasons why people love to party. None of them that I have pondered appeal to me. Sure I go sometimes because it’s where friends go to “have fun” and have their birthday parties and other parties. So I show up because I’m a pretty decent friend.

Partying is just not for me. I’m perfectly happy just spending my Friday and Saturday nights at home, at a lovely dinner or a movie and call it a night. I love to wake up on weekends and be able to do things without a hangover, I like to sew, to cook, watch TV, take pictures, blog.. do whatever I want in day light with no headaches.  And if I can take a trip out of town some where.. That’s a great time too. Go out to lunch with my hubby or my friends is also wonderful.  There are so many other ways to have a great time for me. So many ways to socialize.  And I count them as “fun”. To party people I may be boring and not fun. But just as some of them may not see how I reap the fun out of these things. I don’t see the point in their “fun” either.

I don’t feel like I’m missing out on anything. And it’s not like I don’t know what I’m talking about because I’ve never been out partying. I have. But I’m perfectly happy just being peaceful and “not” wild.

I don’t want to offend anyone with my opinions on this matter. Some of my best-friends are party animals. But they know who I am and how I am. They don’t force me to drink so that I can have some “fun”. But sometimes I can’t help but feel like such a grandma because I don’t do wild things. Yes I’m married and I have no kids. So I still have room for some wild actions. We have friends with kids who still party hard.

We are a part of the military community(my husband is no longer active-duty), and most people party hard.. It’s like college! That’s how I would put it. Haha.  But yeah sometimes I feel like such a bore because I’m so mellow and such a home-body. But it doesn’t last long because I realize this is who I am. And it’s nothing to feel bad about.

It’s just that I seem to be the only one who doesn’t really enjoy partying. I’m not a weirdo, I am friendly and I love meeting new people and it’s great to meet like-minded people. I’m just not a party animal, at all.  Even some people I’ve met who said they don’t really drink or don’t party proved to me that I’ve below the standard line. They drink more than I do and still love party(They choose to go out with no invitations or special occasions).

Anyone out there like me? What are your thoughts? Please leave some comments ^_^

This is my party animal, my dog, Koda.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Michael DesPortes permalink
    October 10, 2010 1:13 am

    Nice post Jah :). I am in full agreement on many points, though I have to admit that I most likely fall into the ‘occasional party-goer’ category. The frequency has fallen dramatically since the Dulwich days though and I find it hard to have a good time. It is always best to be with friends or family who are there for the company rather than the superficial side of things. As you have mentioned, different strokes for different folks right? But yeah, enjoy nights at home these days. :) Keep posting!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

