Skip to content

Learning the Language

May 1, 2008

Today is the day I start my Korean class on base. It’s only an hour. Which is wonderful, I don’t think I want to sit through a 2 hour lecture like in college – at dinner time. I’m quite excited! I don’t know what level of Korean I will be getting into. I just want to be able to communicate. I’m also excited about making some friends there. I don’t know how many people are going to show up really. I will keep you posted on that! 🙂

I’ve been doing lovely! The weather is getting warmer again, it was so hot I could use a swimming pool. Last weekend was cold and cloudy though, so we just stayed in and played ‘everquest 2’, a cool computer game. We both play on different computers but our characters play together 🙂 We also went to the petshop where we got Balto (Our Balto didn’t make it, we really thought he was pulling through after 8 days, it was really sad, but we are getting over it.), they are supposed to give us a new dog in case of sickness or death within 2 weeks of purchase. We went in to check out the puppies and all the ones we were interested in were supposedly “very expensive”. We’re gonna have to pay the differences if we were to get them. Now we think that is dodgy. We got Balto for 400 USD, a purebred Alaskan Malamute, and suddenly all the other dog breeds like the corgi are 1000 USD ? We just walked out of there and decided to send in our Korean friend next time we’re going there, to check on the prices. They could pull the prices up to 1000 just so that we have to pay for the new puppy, and they’re not losing any profit.

For people who want to get a dog or any kind of pet in Korea, I suggest you visit a veterinary clinic in your area and ask them about reliable petshops, or consider adopting an abandoned animal, quite a few of them at our animal hospital/hotel. We got our Balto from Chungmuro, the pet district. It’s not like Jatujak Market in Thailand, the shops are really petshops. But like any places where a lot of puppies are kept together, they are exposed to diseases. One you really have to look out for is Parvo. Not all animals from the Chungmuro area will be sick, but when you bring in a sick pet and it has Parvo, the vet will know where it’s from.

So me and Chris might be getting a new puppy soon, we cleaned the house with bleach last weekend, to kill the Parvo virus. Just to be sure, we want to wait at least a month and will clean the house again.

Chris is moving to a new unit at work, so we are having a get-together at our place this weekend. Good-bye to his old unit and hello to his new friends. I’m probably going to be cooking up something. I want to cook something Thai too but they don’t have any Thai curry paste at the commissary. I will go look at the herb rack and see if they have holy basil (Bai Kraprow). I like to think I’ve been doing a great job in the cooking department. Sometimes things didn’t work out but most of the time they do, and a lot of times they are really good ! 🙂 I will post some pictures of the food here soon.

For now I’m just going to finish this blog. Will let you know how the class goes! Also, I just changed my comment settings, so now ANYONE can comment you don’t need to sign in any where! 🙂 YAY!!

Love,
Jah

One Comment leave one →
  1. Young Ji permalink
    May 22, 2008 5:22 pm

    JAH! I enjoy your blogs! you are finally learning korean?! wowowowo i’m so exciteddddd!
    remember I can always be your tutor too k?!
    xoxoxoox miss you and can’t wait to hear back from you!

Leave a Reply

