Skip to content

Thin Crust Italian Pizza

February 22, 2009

So I’ve been bragging about my homemade pizza for a couple of days on facebook. My husband loves pizza(fanatic really) and will order Papajohn’s any time I’m not around to cook, and sometimes when I’m home and we want pizza. If he orders pizza a few times a week(it has happened), that’s probably around 100 dollars in total!  We’re paying a lot for something that’s not expensive to make at all!  So I went ahead and looked up a few thin crust pizza recipes on the internet and picked one that I thought would make the crust I was aiming for. And it was just what I wanted! A thin, crispy and light Italian pizza crust.

My first attempt smelled a little yeastie but edible. My second attempt was perfect! I added a few pinch of this and that here and there and the pizza was just scrumptious! Well I might be a bit biased here since I made it 🙂 but here’s the recipe if you want to try to make some pizza at home.. Simple, easy-to-find ingredients and easy-to-follow directions!

Ingredients

2 teaspoons Dry Active Yeast

3 cups All Purpose Flour

– 1 tablespoon Extra Virgin Olive Oil

1 teaspoon Honey or Sugar

1 teaspoon Salt

– 1/4 Cup Warm Water for yeast activation(110-115 degrees farenheit)

– 3/4 Cup Warm Water set aside for the dough mixture(110-115 degrees farenheit)

Making the Dough

1. Mix 1/4 warm water, yeast and honey(or sugar) in a small bowl and set aside.

2. In a large bowl. Mix Salt and Flour.

3. Add Olive Oil, Yeast Mixture and warm water to the flour. Stir until a dough forms.  **Make sure you mix well and all the flour is absorbed into the dough, try not to leave any flour behind 🙂

4. Move the dough to a lightly floured surface and knead for about 2-3 minutes.

5. Grease a large bowl/container with olive oil and put the dough in there. Cover with a damp towel and let the dough rise for 2 hours.

6. Cut the dough in half and work them by pulling on the sides and tucking under.. repeat 4 – 5 times in each dough.

7. Roll each dough into two smooth balls and let them rise for 1 hour.

On a lightly floured surface. Roll or stretch your dough to match the shape of the baking pan, move it to the pan(the pan should be lightly greased with olive oil) and use the tip of your fingers to press and move the dough towards the sides.

One dough makes a 15″ by 10″ pizza (I use my cookie pan). The doughs can be refrigerated up to 2 days and frozen for over a month.

Add pizza sauce(You can use an instant pizza sauce or make your own like I did) and use bottom-side of spoon to spread all over. Sprinkle with Mozzarella and then add your choice of meat (some may have to be precooked) I used Jimmy Dean’s Premium Pork Sausage.

Set your oven to 500 F or the highest temperature. Bake for 7-10 minutes.

Enjoy your Pizzaaa!!!!

Dough before rising

Dough before rising

Dough after 2 hours

Dough after 2 hours

Divided into 2. Ready to rise

Divided into 2. Ready to rise

Sauce

Sauce

Ready to For Your Tummy!

Ready to For Your Tummy!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2009 5:18 pm

    Oh, good job! Homemade pizza is such a money saver.

  2. Chesilin permalink
    July 16, 2009 4:29 pm

    I’m such a cheater… I put my ingredients on tortillas because I’m lazy. 🙂

    • Jah permalink*
      July 17, 2009 6:44 am

      Chesi! 🙂 yay to all your comments!! i think that there is nothing wrong with ‘cheating’:) hehe .. it saves your time and energy for Azlin! I just enjoy cooking and like to learn how to make our favorite dishes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

