Skip to content

Today’s Lunch – Zaru Soba

May 29, 2009

soba

I’ve been craving cold noodles for a few days now, so I finally prepared some for lunch today! And what a treat it was! Especially in this weather, it’s pretty rainy in Bangkok right now and the air can get pretty humid and heavy, that makes it that much hotter than it actually is.

I haven’t gotten around to making my own dipping sauce yet, but it is something I will get to. I love cooking and being able to cook my favorite dishes from scratch 🙂 It’s so rewarding. For today I used a bottled Kikkoman Soba Tsuyu dipping sauce that can be found at any big grocery store with asian products. I made some tempura to go with it too.

After putting it all together and taking some pictures I saw how it looked a bit “too-much”.. haha.. but I ate it anyways.. Doesn’t matter how it looks as long as it tastes good – so “Just eat it!!”.. (if anyone complains about your food, tell them that) 😉

cold noodles

What’s all in there?

{Sliced fish stick for decor (not so pretty… haha)}

{Tempura – Pumpkin, Carrot, Fish stick}

{Chopped green onions in sauce}

{Fresh cold sliced cucumber}

Tempura Batter

1 cup ice cold water

1 cup all purpose flour

1 egg

The tempura didn’t come out so beautiful – I will do better next time 😉

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

