Skip to content

First Stem Cell Treatment in Elephant

June 2, 2009

I was supposed to come back and write about the fashion show but this story touched my heart. I have a soft spot for animals and cannot bare to see them suffer.  I don’t know why I have become so, no one taught me, it’s just in my blood. Let’s get to the story 🙂

Stem Cell treatment is not as controversial here in Thailand and research in the field is widely supported. And while we are a small developing country, we are blessed with great doctors 🙂

Kamlai is a poor elephant who was recently injured in a road accident and is in critical condition.  She suffered from broken bones and a huge gaping wound and is unable to stand on her feet. Due to her size, lying in the same position could lead to sores and infection and eventually death.  And while they are doing everything they can by shifting her weight and placing her on a special bed to provide proper support her recovery will take at least 6 months. Which is far too long for such a big animal to lay in a helpless state.

Euthanasia is not widely practiced here.  I understand the reasoning behind it but I hear a lot of mercy killing pets from the western world.  Here in Thailand some people have never even heard of it let alone know that it’s one of the options.  It’s a little weird though that people can’t even choose to die when they are really suffering from an illness, and no one can choose for them.  But we decide for the animals when they are ready to say good bye to this world. I don’t know if this is a matter of human rights or animal rights.The rights being animals should have the right to live and not have their fate decided for them. And humans should be able to choose their own path and ask for mercy killing.  I’m sure it’s too complicated and varies from case to case. Where there’s hope no one wants to let go.

As with Kamlai, her majesty the queen is footing the bills of her stemcell treatment that is underway. This will aid in her recovery and shorten the healing time to about 1-2 months instead of the previously predicted recovery period of at least 6 months.  This all depends on how successful the treatment is, so I’m keeping Kamlai is my prayers. I saw a news footage of the site of the accident and poor Kamlai lying there in the mud while it’s raining waiting for rescue to arrive and her owner, bless his heart, was weeping and sobbing as he was trying to tell the news anchor what had happened.  I hope she gets stronger soon and is able to walk about and go home with her human.

Kamlai is believed to be the first elephant to undergo a stemcell treatment. Please keep her in your prayers.

Let me leave you with this video of a Thai elephant painting.. let’s see what he is painting 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Chesilin permalink
    July 16, 2009 4:42 pm

    Not really on the main topic, but I’ve always thought it was unsual too that we can choose to euthanize animals to keep them from suffering (or sometimes even if people just can’t take care of them), but couldn’t make the same choice for ourselves. Shouldn’t it be the ultimate personal right to decide if you want your own life to continue or not, especially if you’re suffering severely from a terminal disease or something like that?

    People can always choose suicide, but you’d think there would be a more honorable way. We had a debate on this in my Public Speaking class and decided that the only downside would be that some people would choose to end their life simply to not be a burden on their families, even if they didn’t want to die yet. I hear it’s still legal in one place in America- Oregon I believe; they have a certain hospital that helps people who are suffering with no chance of improvement, and want to end it.

    Kind of a random rant I guess…

    Keep us updated on Kamlai please! 🙂

    • Jah permalink*
      July 17, 2009 6:52 am

      Wow that is cool that you had a discussion on this.. I figured it must be a topic of discussion somewhere.. and I do agree on the downside.. some people would choose to end their own life because they don’t want to be a burden. I’m going to be posting an update on Kamlai soon !

Leave a Reply

