Skip to content

An Arctic Dog in a Tropical Climate

June 11, 2009

kodachilling

Who is this handsome boy in the picture ? This is Koda our Alaskan Malamute. I said I was going to blog about him so here he is πŸ™‚ Koda is here in Thailand with me, an arctic dog living in a tropical climate. I know this is the point where some people say “isn’t that too hot for him?”..”what were you thinking?”.. or “are you the type who is just looking for a cool looking dog?” … Nope, I love animals and I actually love those “ugly” dogs πŸ™‚ hehe

I was thinking about adopting a dog when we were in Seoul, definitely a smaller one… We almost got a Corgi too. I was thinking about the move, cause we weren’t going to be in Korea forever… and a big dog can be physically and financially challenging to move.. BUT an Alaskan Malamute has always been my husband dream dog.. so we got precious little Koda πŸ™‚

People always mistake him for a husky.. This one lady at the pet supply store here in Thailand actually asked me if I was sure there was nothing wrong with his growth rate.. So I said “He’s not a husky”.. I said it nicely of course πŸ™‚ and she was like “Ohhhhh!!” There are not many Alaskan Malamutes in Thailand but there are a few out there, not one that I’ve met though… I only found them through google.

I always try to keep the house cool for him, the air con is always on.. I turn it off every now and then and when it gets warm I turn it back on for him so he’s comfortable. But when we go for walks he is able to cope with the heat, if the weather is too hot then I don’t walk him too long. He loves walks though, even in this climate, and he’s made some friends in the neighborhood. People love him here πŸ™‚ So while Thailand is not a suitable climate for him, it surely is better in the affection department than Korea. People are more compassionate towards animals in general and Koda loves greeting and making new friends ! Usually they will ask “Does he bite?” and when I say “Nope”.. they just come over and start petting him πŸ™‚

There are some challenges in raising an Alaskan Malamute. Because a young pup like Koda(1 yearold), still has the puppy mindset in a big dog’s physique. He was really destructive and destroyed 2000 dollars worth of furniture while we were in Korea. He is better now with the chewing, but he has ripped the mosquito screen on the windows because he stood up and leaned on it to have a better look at what’s going on outside.

The down sides aside.. Koda is a wonderful companion… Who’s also an entertainer…And he is so full of love… He adds a lot of sunshine to my life now that my husband is away in the sandbox.. Koda makes it so much more bearable and the two of us can’t wait til daddy comes home!

I have so many pictures of Koda from when he was a puppy up to now. So I will be posting his pictures every now and then πŸ™‚ Is there anyone else out there in the area or similar climate with an Alaskan Malamute? Please leave a comment so I can follow your blog and we can share stories and pictures!

xoxo

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Mai permalink
    April 30, 2010 9:16 pm

    Hi! I stumbled upon your blog while googling Malamutes in Korea.
    I wish I could say I have a Malamute and I live in a tropical country, but I don’t have one. Yet. πŸ˜€ I live in the Philippines and the number of Malamutes here are increasing. I really want to have one, but my dream puppy would have to wait. For now, I lurk (and participate, once in a while) in a local forum dedicated to pets, reading about Malamutes and being envious πŸ˜€
    Anyway, just wanted to leave you a note. I would love to hear more about your beautiful Koda.
    πŸ™‚

    • Jah permalink*
      April 30, 2010 10:09 pm

      hey ! thank you so much for your comment ! πŸ™‚ Koda will be happy to know somebody commented on a post about him.. if only he knows! he is a very friendly dog.. malamutes can a challenge as they are pack dogs and will likely suffer from seperation anxiety when you’re not around and start chewing things.. koda ate the couch and the wall at our Seoul apartment.. he’s all good now though πŸ™‚ he really is a character πŸ™‚ i will post some vids of him doing tricks tomorrow! i hope you come back and look!

      ps. my grandma was filipina! πŸ˜‰

  2. Mai permalink
    April 30, 2010 11:20 pm

    Haha yeah, if he only knew! πŸ˜€
    Poor couch! Glad to know he’s OK now. Probably just a puppy stage. I’ve heard so many good things about Malamutes that I have brought my previously-cat-person boyfriend over to the dark side. We’re going to have a Bullmastiff (my dog) and a Malamute after we get married (like maybe 5 years after we get married haha).
    May I know where you got Koda?
    I will gladly come back and watch the videos!

    PS Coolness! No wonder you’re so pretty πŸ˜€

    • Jah permalink*
      May 3, 2010 10:30 am

      Hey ! πŸ™‚ I posted the videos at my new blog … http://jittieandthegang.wordpress.com

      we got Koda here in Korea.. 2 years ago when we were here the first time.. Then Koda moved to Thailand with me while my hubby worked in the middle east.. and here we are again! πŸ™‚ He’s a great dog.. full of love and humor.. we adore him πŸ™‚

  3. Mai permalink
    May 3, 2010 5:29 pm

    I’ve seen all three videos and was delighted, amazed, and envious! He is such a smart and handsome boy! Count me among one of his adoring fans πŸ˜€ I wish I could teach my dog more than just ‘sit’ hehe.
    Koda looks like a giant, too. Or is he standard? I heard there are quite a few giant lines in Korea because they pull sleds.
    I asked about where you got him because there’s a breeder in the US who has a Koda, and I seem to remember there’s a Koda Jr. But I’m not totally sure. ^^;;
    Thanks for posting the videos!
    πŸ˜€

  4. Cloud permalink
    August 16, 2010 3:44 pm

    Hey! I came across your blog while searching about malamutes in thailand. i’m Thai and really like mal. I’ve been thinking of adopting one. But the weather problem has been bugging me for a while. A lot of breeders says it won’t be a problem but I’m ot sure. So Koda is a good example. Thanks very much.
    And i watched all of the videos. He’s so cute!!! Can’t wait to get one!!

    • Jah permalink*
      August 24, 2010 8:51 pm

      Hello πŸ™‚ Thanks for the comment ! Koda is a really good dog.. The first year is the toughest.. Malamutes need some outdoor time and might destroy furniture when left alone in the house(the key is to walk them or let them run free as much as possible when you can) But in hot weather not too long(they get tired from the heat). They also shed a lot of hair so be prepared for that. You will be vacuuming on a daily basis. I will write a post about what to expect when you get a Malamute! πŸ™‚

  5. Cloud permalink
    September 3, 2010 1:02 pm

    Thank you! We will get a Mal next year…I know it’s a little too long but I’ve been waiting for more than 20 years so who care! I will need your advice then… Thank you so much again! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

