Skip to content

A Hearty Tomato and Onion Soup

June 12, 2009

comfortsoup

I love this soup.. it is such a comforting dish… yet flavourful and healthy. I prefer to use chicken as a meat of choice… but pork or beef is fine too… or a combination of pork ribs and chicken.  The oil comes off of the chicken skin, there is no oil in this recipe 🙂 So if you prefer a lighter soup.. use skinless chicken.

Ingredients

{Meat of Choice (I recommend chicken with skin and bones – makes it more tasty)}

{Whole Onions}

{Whole Tomatoes (not too ripe – still have some green and hard to the touch)}

{Potatoes (optional)}

{Pepper Corn(optional)}

{SoySauce/Salt for seasoning}

First bring water to a boil and add in the seasoning cute and the meat, when the meat is cooked throw in whole onions and tomatoes. Season with salt or soy sauce(I usually use a bit of both). Turn down the heat and let the soup simmer for a while, depending on how tender you want the meat to be.

As for the exact amount of each ingredient,  that depends on how you like it. I usually add 2 whole onions and 2 whole tomatoes when I make this soup for one.  I never used chicken stock for the ingredient but I divide a seasoning cube and only use a little bit(withour MSG) to add flavors to the soup. I find that the ingredients already give a the soup a very nice stocky flavor.

Tomorrow is my friend’s birthday and I’m making some delicious prawns for the pot luck. I will be sharing the recipe as it is REALLY delicious and will get rave reviews.. I will be telling more about it tomorrow!

Until then.. Have a lovely Friday!

xoxo

One Comment leave one →
  1. lailablogs permalink
    June 13, 2009 10:34 am

    Sounds delicious .. Laila .. http://lailablogs.com/

Leave a Reply

