Skip to content

Meat Free Monday – Will it really help?

June 16, 2009

fieldofgreen

Meat Free Monday is a campaign launched by singers Paul McCartney, Chris Martin and Sheryl Crow to reduce the emission of greenhouse gases in an attempt to slow down global warming. I have discussed a similar attempt to help the Earth in one of my classes in college – Earth Hour. You know the night where every household stops using electricity for an hour. I always thought that that wouldnt do anything in the long-run.

Just because we stop burning fossil fuels for an hour in a year doesn’t mean that we are doing anything for the earth. If we keep on depleting the resources and releasing greenhouse gases into the atmosphere in the years to come, it’s not really a way out. Sure it does make you feel like you’re doing something good for the Earth, for an hour in a year. What will really help is to develop greener habits. It is better for the earth if millions of people are greener in their every day life than when they are green one hour in 365 days.

I will start living my Mondays meat free. I think this is actually a good practice, because we get to do it every week. And I plan on having more meat free days and I think this will help me develop a better eating habit. This also saves a lot of money. Although I won’t promise on being totally meat free.. yet. Because I love food and cooking too much. I grew up with a restaurateur Grandma and everybody in my family loves eating great food, it is like a culture to us. Haha.

What does everybody think about this ? People who do this should share their Meat Free Monday recipes. I will start a new Meat Free Monday category. To learn more about Meat Free Monday please click here.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Christian permalink
    June 16, 2009 8:37 pm

    I think that is a good idea, and I willing to support you. We both can do meat free Mondays.

Leave a Reply

