Skip to content

Meat Free Monday #2

June 29, 2009

Another Meat Free Monday went by, I’m still sticking to this everybody :)My highlight is the holy basil stir fry that’s an all-time favorite here in Thailand. It’s a spicy dish but it’s absolutely delicious. If you are not in Thailand it might be hard to find fresh holy basil and I’m not sure if you’re allowed to plant them. But if you can get a hold of them you must try this dish! This is a vegetarian version (minus oyster sauce), but it is still lovely, I think the pumpkin played a big part in balancing the flavors with its sweetness.

holybasilstirfry

Ingredients

holy basil (only the leaves)

chilis

pumpkin(cooked)

mushroom

chopped crushed garlic

soy sauce

Again I’m not specific on the measurements. That’s how I cook 🙂 You can taste as you cook to find out how you like this made.  You don’t need a wok, I cook Thai food in flat bottom non-stick pans all the time and they still work.  First you heat up the oil and add the chopped garlic and the pumpkin and mushroom Next add the soy sauce, add a little water and then chilis and holy basil. Stir them together until the holy basil has wilted a little and it’s ready to be served with white rice.. jasmine rice is even better!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2009 3:36 pm

    What a fun new blog! I look forward to reading more.
    An Indian saint visited our ranch one weekend. I looked out my kitchen window to see her bowing before the holy basil (tulsi), which is considered a diety.

    • Jah permalink*
      July 17, 2009 7:10 am

      Wow 🙂 Thank you so much for commenting on my blog! I went to your site and saw that you’ve written an article on Thailand. That is wonderful! Must be fun a lot of fun to do some travel writing 🙂

      Holy basil in Thai is called Krapow, which doesn’t mean anything holy. Now I know why it has the name “Holy Basil”. There was a food survey/quiz that went around among my friends and they all answered, the Holy Basil Stir Fry when asked “What is something you could eat every day?”. It is Holy indeed 🙂

      my humble little blog is honored to have welcomed you!

Leave a Reply

