Skip to content

Home Improvement

July 3, 2009

Renting a house in a lovely part of town can be costly but I was lucky to find a place that came with a good deal financially. It is perfect because I prefer living in a house rather than in an apartment on 20 something floor with a big dog 🙂 It is also in the downtown business area of Bangkok BUT it has its down sides.

It is not well decorated. I guess the landlord could care less since this is in a prime location, it is spacious and it will always attract people. The living area downstairs are very exposed, meaning, all windows have no curtains on them. I share the outdoors area with the landlord and another tenant. I’m the outermost unit, meaning everybody walks past my house to get to theirs… Yes VERY lovely, they all love to look inside my windows. It is nice for a while to give a friendly polite nod. But it got too annoying, when the landlord wants to ask us something she doesn’t ring the bell. She takes a peek through the window and then … how considerate of her.. knock in the door.  Her husbands looks in every time he walks by.  And her son… bless his heart… loves to sneak a peek at the window constantly, to take a look at my Koda.  The other tenant is also one of my spectators.

After considering installing some curtains and deciding against it because it’s too pricy.. and it’s NOT my house. I finally went to the wholesale market in China Town to get some fabric and started making my own drapes.. It costs me about 15 bucks for 10 meters of fabric. And I’m so happy now.. my place looks so much better and I have total privacy to lounge around in my home without feeling like I’m a fish in a fishbowl.  I get to take a shower and watch late night shows downstairs in my night gowns… YAY… I’m also creating some artwork for the dining area.. and I already finished one painting… Here are some pictures of my home improvement attempts.

drape

drapecouch

I didn’t get a nice couch either, but I will live with it 🙂 hehe.. The pleats are 5 inches apart and each pleat uses about 10 centimeters of fabric.  I took a look at my bedroom curtain and roughly came up with an easy way to recreate the professional drape look 🙂 I’m very happy with what I got for 15 bucks and a little sweat(I don’t have a sewing maching but I have this handheld stitch master thingy). Now this is only in one corner but I actually made three drapes for all the windows 🙂

painting

This is my attempt at painting, after many years of no painting and no serious drawing at all… I used to draw and paint a lot though so I need to dust it off a little.  I hope my next one is better, this one goes very well the the drapes that are visible from the dining area 🙂  Again I was being cheap, on top of painting my own artwork for the kitchen, I bought canvases that are ready for the wall so I didn’t need to frame them. I wanted to paint them with acrylic paint but because I was cheap I bought some poster colors which are quite cheap 🙂

I hope everybody had a great week! Another weekend is here.. a long weekend here in Thailand. Have a lovely weekend everyone!

xoxo

UPDATE: After mentioning that it’s a long weekend here in Thailand, I later realized that it’s also a long weekend in the states! Happy 4th of July in advance everyone! 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Christian permalink
    July 4, 2009 9:30 pm

    Honey, the drapes are lovely, and I really like that painting! I would like to do some painting with you when I get home, maybe that’s a good way to spend some time together, we can paint for different rooms in the house. Anyways, everything looks great and you are very talented. Look forward to seeing more soon!

  2. Chesilin permalink
    July 16, 2009 4:25 pm

    Those curtains look amazing! I always say I’m going to make curtains, but I have NO idea how to do it. haha. The painting is adorable, I scrolled through the pictures before I read it and I thought you’d bought all this stuff!

    I love doing stuff like that but I never know how to get started so I end up putting it off indefinately… lol. I painted some little pictures for Azlin’s room while I was pregnant, and they’re in a grocery bag in the closet, with one still unpainted. Too bad you don’t live here so I could have a craft buddy 😦

  3. August 22, 2009 8:15 pm

    Lovely curtains. And the cushion looks amazing!
    This is the first time I am visiting your blog, and got here thru Foodieblogroll. 🙂

Leave a Reply

