Skip to content

A Sweet New Addition to my Crafting Tools

October 5, 2009

Okay… Let me introduce you to a sweet addition to my family… are you ready ????

Here we go!

good-bye to my “no-longer- gonna-work-after-those-drapes” hand held sewing device.

IMG_4961

This is an Elvira “Sweetie” sewing machine, courtesy of my sweet hubby. She’s my first sewing machine. πŸ™‚ I did a lot of research online, went through a bunch of reviews and sewing sites, to see what kind of options I would need. I went for the Sweetie because I’m only a beginner at sewing and don’t want to spend a lot on a machine yet, but I think this is a good investment, because it does a lot of what a decent sewing machines do : ) I spent a good 4,950 baht(USD 150) on her. Elvira is good brand if you are in Thailand, because they provide excellent after-sales services. They have learning centers around the country, where you can book your free sewing classes. They have a very good website too if you want to take a look. http://www.elvira.co.th (i just checked and couldn’t find the language options- so the website is only in Thai)

****A little side note, I bought my machine from Central Chidlom, Chidlom BTS station(it is very close to my house and it’s the best mall in my opinion because it’s a good size and it’s got all the good stuff). The sewing machines are located on 5th floor near the electrical kitchen appliances. I’m posting this in case there’s a foreign craftster in town. I know it can be hard to find relevant search results on certain topics when it comes to local Bangkok lifestyle.You can also find other brand names there such as, Janome, Brother etc.

IMG_4964

This is my fabric stack, so far πŸ˜‰ I haven’t gone insane yet. Just taking it slowly but surely. They are very inexpensive to get though, but I didn’t want to get more than I need.Fabrics like these go for about just over a dollar per meter to about 3-4 USD. I buy my fabric at Sumpeng/Pahurat(they are close to each other, one is a wholesale market but you can find some crafting supplies there too and another is a fabric market with lots of sewing supplies.) There are lots of fabric and supply stores, one after another, it is so much fun. If you go there with a budget to splurge you will end up with some good stuff! You should try to get there before noon because it can get hot. The “cool” season is coming up so it’s a good time to walk about in Bangkok, without getting all sweaty and smelling like a pig afterwards πŸ˜‰

IMG_4965

This is a wallet I created from my newly acquired sewing machine and sewing skills πŸ˜› This is all self-taught, well some online tutorials and common sense πŸ™‚ nothing is impossible.This wallet is not perfect because I didn’t leave enough seam allowance, so after I turned the right side out I didn’t have a lot of fabric to tuck in and clean up the work nicely – hence the fabric patch on-top. But no worries! You learn from your mistakes ! I’m using this wallet now though.. The inside is very nicely done(bragging) it’s got 2 credit card pockets(fit all my cards), a bill pocket and a coin pocket πŸ™‚ I oooveee the design. You want it, you make it!

IMG_4967Here is my first boxy pouch, with badly sewn zippers, I’m not used to the zippers foot yet. I’m getting used to the regular foot though

I’m happy with my progress πŸ™‚Β  I’m using this imperfect boxy pouch to hold the zippers that I bought πŸ˜‰

Here’s the tutorial I followed. It’s very basic, so there’s no lining, but it’s good for a beginner like me.

I lived with my grandma until she passed away when I was nine. I grew up watching her sew, and listening to her sewing machine at night, she would sew at night before bed. She made all sorts of things. She quilted, made her own outfits an even made me some barbie outfits. I wish I inherited her sewing machine, but I think they put it in her office, along with her other unmoved, unchanged things as a monument. My grandma was no ordinary knitting and sewing grandma. Yes she did all that and she also went to church every day and also ran her multi-branch bakery business.Β  Hearing the sewing machine brings back a lot of memories, although hers was louder πŸ˜›

Enough for my sewing obsession for one day.Β  It’s time to go get ready for my beauty sleep!Β  Did I mention my grandma was a beautiful woman on top of all that ! ?

here she is on the right πŸ™‚ in her igorot costume (according to my dad)

Here’s her older and very accomplished self πŸ™‚ with grandpa of course.

Good Night(or day)Where ever you are !

6 Comments leave one →
  1. arlijohn permalink
    October 5, 2009 8:27 pm

    Good luck on your sewing journey. Sewing is wonderful!

  2. October 25, 2009 11:10 pm

    Hello,

    Love your projects!

    ~ Gabriela ~

  3. Kelly permalink
    November 22, 2009 1:36 pm

    Thanks for including the info regarding where you found your sewing machine. I’ve been looking in Nakhon Sawan and saw a demo for the Elvira brand today but they were showing me the really nice ones for about 28,900 B. It is helpful to hear about places in BKK near the BTS to find sewing supplies.

    Enjoy your new addition!

    K

    • Jah permalink*
      November 23, 2009 12:34 pm

      I’m glad someone found it useful.. that’s what all the info is meant for ! πŸ™‚ I hope you find your machine soon! Good luck!

  4. November 7, 2010 3:40 pm

    The boxy pouch looks great! Like a pencil case!

  5. March 1, 2011 3:16 pm

    love the post.

Leave a Reply

