Skip to content

Two “Yummy in Our Tummies” Dinners!

March 17, 2010

Hello Dear Readers(I have about 8 readers a day on average ­čÖé )

It’s me again, blogging on this snowy night from Songtan, South Korea. I know my content is not top of the line and I’ve been MIA for a long while during my transition from Thailand to Korea. But here I am! Reunited with hubby and cooking great meals for us every day! I am gonna blog more frequently and greatly improve my blog’s content, pictures etc. I want to change the blog name too, but that’s for later. Today I have 2 dinner ideas that I hope someone out there will find appealing ­čÖé

The first one is the Glazed Chicken or Japanese Mum’s Chicken as posted on Recipezaar.com┬á The recipe was a success and it was DELICIOUS! we gobbled it down pretty fast. The sides were some salad with Benihana style dressing and plain jasmine rice. Mmmmm.

Here’s the recipe posted at recipezaar.com but I will paste the recipe here for easy access ­čÖé Credit to JustjanS on Recipezaar ­čÖé

Ingredients

  • 8 chicken drumsticks, skin on┬á(the skin is important for flavour, and is so tasty to eat!)
  • 1┬ácup water
  • 1/2┬ácup balsamic vinegar
  • 1/3┬ácup soy sauce
  • 2 1/2┬átablespoons sugar
  • 1 garlic clove, peeled and bruised
  • 1┬ásmall hot chili pepper, slit open, seeds removed

Directions

  1. Place all the ingredients in a saucepan over a high heat.
  2. Bring to the boil, then reduce to a simmer for about 20 minutes.
  3. Remove any scum that rises to the surface.
  4. Increase the heat, turning the drumsticks frequently in the sauce, and cook until the liquid has reduced to a sticky glaze.***Patience! it’s worth the wait***
  5. Arrange the chicken on a serving platter, remove the garlic clove and chili from the liquid, and spoon the glaze over.
  6. NOTE It’s a glaze rather than a sauce, so there’s not a whole lot of it.
At first the amount of balsamic vinegar this recipe called for scared me a little, and as it was cooking I was tasting the sauce, I started to wonder if it was the right taste for me. But when the glaze thickened at the end, it was so delicious! Don’t forget to turn on your vent to let all that vinegary smell out ! ­čÖé I turned on my vent and open my windows too!┬á I choose my recipes by their ratings, so they are always YUMMY !
Here’s the full dinner. And the Benihana Ginger Dressing Recipe! Credit to Todd Wilbur on Recipezaar

Ingredients

  • 1/2┬ácup onion, minced
  • 1/2┬ácup peanut oil
  • 1/3┬ácup rice vinegar
  • 2┬átablespoons water
  • 2┬átablespoons fresh ginger, minced
  • 2┬átablespoons celery, minced
  • 2┬átablespoons ketchup
  • 4┬áteaspoons soy sauce
  • 2┬áteaspoons sugar
  • 2┬áteaspoons lemon juice
  • 1/2┬áteaspoon garlic, minced
  • 1/2┬áteaspoon salt
  • 1/4┬áteaspoon pepper

Directions

  1. Combine all ingredients in a blender.
  2. Blend on high speed for about 30 seconds or until all of the ginger is well pureed.
AND !!!! NEXT DINNER MENU!

The Honey Ginger Grilled Salmon! It was delicious too! ! ! Tangy, sweet, and just the right saltiness.. Mmmm. I served this dish with curried fried rice, using the store bought curry powder and the left over rice from yesterday’s dinner (the Glazed Chicken), and also some green beans. I don’t have a blender(will buy as soon as I’m done with my baby sitting duty) so nothing is blended or ground, just finely chopped.. ­čśŤ┬á the Lemon slices also came from the other half of the lemon used in the Benihana Dressing Recipe and the Ginger too.
Here’s the Recipe Credit to Mirj from Recipezaar

Ingredients

  • 1┬áteaspoon ground ginger
  • 1┬áteaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/3┬ácup reduced sodium soy sauce
  • 1/3┬ácup orange juice
  • 1/4┬ácup honey
  • 1 green onion, chopped
  • 1 1/2┬álbs salmon fillets

Directions

  1. In a large self-closing plastic bag, combine first six ingredients; mix well.
  2. Place salmon in bag and seal tightly.
  3. Turn bag gently to distribute marinade.
  4. Refrigerate 15 minutes or up to 30 minutes for stronger flavor.
  5. Turn bag occasionally.
  6. Lightly grease grill rack.
  7. Preheat grill to medium heat.
  8. Remove salmon from marinade; reserve the marinade.
  9. Grill 12-15 minutes per inch of thickness or until fish flakes easily with a fork.
  10. Brush with reserved marinade up until the last 5 minutes of cooking time.
  11. Discard leftover marinade.
These recipes are tried and tested by me and my hubby! I hope you will try them too, they are healthy and delicious. I see far to many people cooking from the box and from the cans. Let’s cook more using fresh ingredients. I’ve been eating meals with fresh ingredients for the most part and I can always tell when I’m eating something instant or processed. The sauce always taste floury and if it’s supposed to be tangy it tastes so artificial. Somehow, it doesn’t taste good and and feels so unhealthy.I do cook instant sides to save some time and effort often though and my favorite are Pasta Roni Pastas and Stove Top Stuffing Mix. ­čśŤ
Good Night and Good Health!
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

