Skip to content

Happy Quilt Fabric Warehouse in Songtan

June 16, 2010


UPDATE !!!! *******APRIL 10th, 2011 : I have left Korea, so I’m no longer a happy quilt customer 😦 but a reader is kind enough to leave a comment to let everybody know that “Happy Quilt will be moving to a new location soon. The guy today told us they would be moving in June and the new shop will be near Jije Station (that’s the train/subway station near the Pyeongtaek E-Mart on Little 1).”

PS.. I don’t know what happened to my other Happy Quilt pictures. I checked in my wordpress media library and they are gone 😦 Since Happy Quilt is moving, those pictures will no longer be helpful.. Since they are pictures of the outside and the sign, to give you an idea of what the place looks like. Β Good luck in finding your way to the new Happy Quilt(in June).. If you blog about it please send me a link! πŸ™‚ I will link to your post from here.

END OF UPDATE *****


I’ve read about Happy Quilt before but the sites that stated the directions are either down or deleted. So I went ahead and created a google map that shows a path from Osan Airbase Main Gate to Happy Quilt. Here’s an explanation:

**Happy Quilt is open from 10:00AM to 05:00 PM !!!!Closed on Tuesdays!!!!**

-Upon exiting Osan Main Gate, turn right

-Turn left at the small junction. Keep going straight down that road, over the bridges and pass the school, and all the apartments, after a short while the buildings start to fade and the road widens.

-When you are approaching a BIG intersection veer right and turn right at the intersection, this should take you on 317. (there are little intersections along the way . Don’t get confused.. keep going until the buildings fade out .. you want to get to 317.. if in doubt look at overhead signs)

-Keep following the road until you hit another big intersection,turn right at that intersection.

-Keep right and turn right at the next intersection, you will see a gas station, then you shouldn’t miss the “Happy Quilt” Sign (PLEASE NOTE: Keep right, this is a short drive)

*****You can always look at the map, I’ve drawn a path there πŸ™‚


This phone number(010 9292 8502) was written on the white board with some Korean scribble that I don’t understand but you could try to call it when you get on a cab and hand the phone to the driver. Or you could call the number on the big sign. There is one guy at Happy Quilt who speaks sufficient English, so you should be fine πŸ™‚

I hope that this post will be useful for foreigners living in Songtan. You can leave me a comment here if you have questions πŸ™‚ I tried to search for directions but I didn’t find one, since the USFK forums has been hacked and another lady deleted her blog. So I think some other people will run into this very problem. I found some coordinates before but I can’t find them now I will update as soon as I find it.

I asked if I could take this picture as I was leaving πŸ™‚ Of course I could.

 

These little buddies were sending me off. They waited with me while I was waiting for my cab.

 

 

This is the stack I brought home today, I went for the ready pack fabrics, it was really convenient.

They were 6000 won a piece.. Each piece is 2 yards.

They have a whole bunch of them. But you can always get the longer pieces cut from the rolls!

 

 

 

Now this is going to make sewing geeks jealous! I’ve found another reason to be happy with Happy Quilt. I live on the 317 and Happy quilt is a 1-minute drive(or less) from my place!! I didn’t know how close it was until I was there! I’m sooo Happy! πŸ™‚

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2010 11:52 pm

    Hello Jah! I’m glad I found your site! I am currently in Songtan on a quest for sewing supplies to present to my girlfriend. I’ve located plenty of fabric stores but I’m really on the look out for a new sewing machine. Do you know of a place where I can purchase one?
    My girlfriend is really into handmade crafts, specifically tatting and quilting. If you’re ever shopping around the Shinjang area, please feel free to swing by her store, The Yellow Ribbon, across from the From In coffee shop. I’m sure she would be eager to “talk thread” and learn the finer points of sewing machine work!
    Once again, I’m glad I found your site! Have a great week!

    • Jah permalink*
      September 8, 2010 12:56 am

      Hello James! πŸ™‚ Thanks for leaving a comment! I always see so many people viewing this post.. but I don’t know if it is helpful.. since no one ever dropped me a line πŸ™‚ I will definitely drop by her shop next time I’m in Shinjang. We go there a lot. I’m no master seamstress.. So I’m sure I have a few things I could learn from her. I don’t have any crafty friends here. But I sure I wish I do!

      About sewing machines.. that’s a really good question. I don’t know exactly where to get sewing machines here in Korea. The BX has a rather small collection that will require transformers for use in Korea. I brought mine from Thailand, it is very basic and I’m looking to graduate from it soon. I’ve been looking at some machines online..and saw that you can order some good machines from Amazon.com that will deliver to APO addresses.

      But then again Korea must have a good sewing machine store that I don’t know about.. This is when I wish I read and speak Korean! πŸ™‚ I wish I am more help but I’m on the same road as you are regarding sewing machines in Korea

  2. November 8, 2010 4:38 am

    Looks like an excellent sewing atmosphere!

  3. January 1, 2011 6:49 pm

    hi!
    I am sooo excited to see this post! My husband just arrived there on a one year rotation… we are going to visit him in april, and I am so glad to see you posted about this quilt shop. I am looking for fabric ( cotton prints mostly) and ribbons, and your pictures for some reason aren’t working…. weird….
    if you have time, would you mind sending them to me me in email format so I can see them? =)
    I have 2 children 6 and 4… we are so excited to go visit! I have been there once almost 10 years ago, the last time my husband was stationed htere, so it will be nice to visit again. But now, i am into sewing and little projects, so my shopping ideas have shifted over into that world… =)

    thanks again!
    blessings! Angela

    • February 1, 2011 4:14 pm

      Angela- when you come to visit, you need to find someone to take you up to Dongdaemun. You can buy whole spools of ribbon for dirt cheap. That place has ANYTHING and EVERYTHING craft related. DON’T take your kids- it is impossible to navigate any size stroller, easy to get lost, and HUGE.

  4. Courtnie permalink
    March 6, 2011 10:11 am

    Hi! Thanks for the information. The map and pictures are no longer showing on your site. Could you send me the map? I am really interested in finding this store. Also, would you happen to know the bus numbers that run by Happy Quilt?

    Thanks so much!

    • Jah permalink*
      April 11, 2011 1:37 am

      The map is in the link πŸ™‚ It’s the pink text in the post.

  5. Carol permalink
    April 2, 2011 8:43 pm

    Just to let you know – Happy Quilt will be moving to a new location soon. The guy today told us they would be moving in June and the new shop will be near Jije Station (that’s the train/subway station near the Pyeongtaek E-Mart on Little 1).

  6. Angela permalink
    April 11, 2011 8:17 am

    Hi
    I went yesterday! He Also told us he was moving in June . I had the best time!!! Thanks for your original post again:) i will head to domdemon this week. I spent 100 at happy quilt and will have to go back in a few weeks ! πŸ™‚ Angela

Leave a Reply

